top of page

Breast Cancer Blog Post

Breast Cancer affects so many people in the world around us. I hope I never have to experience first-hand what it is like to have it, but I have been personally affected by it. My manager had breast cancer and one of my high school teachers, but when my mother’s best friend, who was also a family friend, was diagnosed with breast cancer, that was when it hit me the hardest. My mother got the phone call on a typical evening before dinner, and when we found out, our whole family was in shock. The part that made it the worst was that she had to take time off of her job, and her husband already lost his job because he had a stroke a month before. She was already under so much stress trying to make ends meet and take care of her four children and her husband who needed endless hours of physical therapy. Seeing all the pain that her and her family went through broke my heart, and from that point on, I have wanted to help out and do as much as I can for the cause. I have ran in 5Ks and sold wristbands for breast cancer through student union, but it has never felt like enough. I want to do more to help raise money and awareness for breast cancer. I don’t know exactly what I plan to do yet, but part of the reason I picked my major was so that I could try to help people medically in the future because the affect this has had on me.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page